Custer State Park and Prairie Elk Seasons finalized

The South Dakota Game, Fish and Parks (GFP) Commission finalized several elk hunting seasons for 2016 and 2017 on Thursday. Additional information on the 2017 hunting seasons can be found online at

There will be nine resident any elk licenses for Custer State Park (CSP); an increase of one license from 2015. The any elk seasons dates for CSP are Sept. 17 - Oct. 2, 2016.

The CSP elk hunting season will also allow for 20 antlerless elk licenses in two separate hunting units. These two unit hunting dates will be Oct. 8-16 and Oct. 22-30, 2016.

The Commission also modified the unit boundary for the CSP antlerless elk season. Antlerless licenses will not be valid throughout CSP, but limited to the southern portion of the park - See more at:

The Commission also added 51 licenses for the 2016 and 2017 prairie elk hunting seasons.

Unit 9A (Portions of Butte, Lawrence and Meade counties)

Sept. 15 - Oct. 31 and Dec. 1 - 31
10 any elk and 40 antlerless elk licenses

The Commission modified this unit to include Meade County north of the existing unit boundary, east of Interstate 90, south of SD Highway 34, and west of Middle Alkali Road.
Unit 11A, B, C, D (Bennett and portions of Jackson and Mellette counties)

11A: July 15 - Aug. 31
11B: Sept.1 - Oct. 14
11C: Oct. 15 - Nov.30
11D: Sept. 1 - Dec. 31
24 any elk licenses and 30 antlerless elk licenses

Unit 15A (Portions of Butte County)

Sept. 1 - Oct. 31 and Dec. 1 - 31
10 any elk and 10 antlerless elk licenses

Unit 27A (Portions of Fall River County)

Oct. 1 - 31 and Dec. 1 - 31
15 any elk and 10 antlerless elk licenses

Unit 30A (Portions of Gregory County)


Columnist: SD GFP

South Dakota Game, Fish and Parks manages SD's wildlife resources, parks, and outdoor recreational opportunities for the benefit of the people of this state and its visitors.  

For more information or to apply for hunting or fishing licenses online,  visit:

Recently Added