National Wildlife Refuge Deer Hunting Season

Season Dates: See Below
Application Deadline: September 01, 2017

GFP assists the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service in the deer management on South Dakota's National Wildlife Refuges by facilitating the drawing process and issuance of hunting licenses.

Separate deer seasons are held at Lacreek National Wildlife Refuge (Bennett County), Sand Lake National Wildlife Refuge (Brown County), and Waubay National Wildlife Refuge (Day County).

South Dakota big game regulations apply to hunting the refuges, along with provisions that may be put in place by the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service for a specific refuge.

  • Season Dates:
    Refuge Deer - Season dates depend on the refuge. Please refer to the Refuge Deer Application form to the right to see specific dates for each refuge.
  • Similar to the East River deer season, hunters with an unfilled antlerless Sand Lake refuge tag will be allowed to hunt antlerless deer during the nine day period beginning the Saturday after Christmas.